About Mobile Estimating
Mobile Estimating allows users to work on estimates offline using a laptop and synchronize changes with the B2W Estimate server upon reconnection.
Overview
With Mobile Estimating, you can take estimates away from the office on a laptop computer. You can then work on them while disconnected from your B2W Estimate server. When back at the office, you can transfer new or modified estimates back to the B2W Estimate server.
You can also use B2W Mobile Estimating in environments with poor Internet connectivity. First, connect to the B2W Estimate server to copy estimates to your computer. Next, disconnect, then edit them offline. Reconnect when finished and copy the revised estimates to the main B2W Estimate server.
Mobile Estimating Features
Get Latest Resources, Item Databases, and Options
You can reconnect to your server to update your resources, item databases, and options. Then you can disconnect again and resume your work offline.
Check Out Estimates to Your Laptop
Estimates checked out to your laptop appear as read-only to others on the network. You can still update them on your laptop.
Get Read-only Copy of Estimates
You can take read-only copies of estimates for review. Other can still edit them on the network server.
Create New Estimates While Disconnected
While disconnected, you can create new estimates on your laptop. You can add them to the network server when you reconnect.
Administrator Undo Check Out
Your administrator can undo your checked out estimates. This way, someone at the office can update them. If you also update them on your laptop, the system will create a copy of them on the server when you reconnect.
Getting Started
To use mobile estimating functionality:
- Your edition of B2W Estimate must include mobile estimating.
- You need a computer set up as a mobile workstation.
How do I install as a mobile workstation?
Select Mobile Client when you set up a mobile workstation.
See the B2W Estimate Installation Guide for more information about setting up mobile workstations. You can download this guide from the Documentation area of the B2W Community Portal.
Disconnecting From Your Network Server
Use the Disconnect From Network Server Wizard to disconnect from the network. You can then work on estimates on your mobile workstation. There are two ways to start the wizard:
- Select Disconnect From Network Server on the Homepage under Administration.
- Select Disconnect From Network Server from the File drop down menu.
Follow these steps:
- On the Disconnect From Server Wizard Welcome page, select Next.
- Review the options on the Check Out License page, including time limits, resource updates, and audit trail records.
- Select Next.
- On the Select Estimates page, you have the option to Add one or more estimates (as checked out or Read Only) before disconnecting. If you change your mind, choose an estimate and select Remove.
- Select Next, then select Finish.
Mobile License Options
Select a time limit for your mobile license
For security, you can check out a mobile license for only a preset number of days. The license becomes unavailable when the checkout period ends. This feature can help protect sensitive data on lost or stolen computers. The default duration – and the largest value – is 90 days.
Update mobile resources, item databases, and options
Select the Update mobile resources, item databases, and options checkbox to update these items whenever you connect to the server.
Update audit trail records for selected estimates
If your company owns the Enterprise edition, you can update audit trail records. If enabled, checked-out estimates will include a copy of all audit trail entries logged prior to checkout.
Re-connecting to a Network Server
Use the Connect to Server Wizard to reconnect a mobile workstation to the network server.
- Select Connect to Network Server under Mobile Estimating on the Homepage.
- Select Connect to Network Server from the File drop down menu.
Stay connected to server
- On the Connect to Server Wizard Welcome page, select Next.
- On the Choose Connection Type page, select Stay connected to server, then select Next.
- On the Manage Mobile Estimates page, manage checked out or new estimates:
- For checked out estimates: Select Check In (default) or Undo Check Out.
- For new estimates: Select Add to Server (default) or Discard Estimate.
- Select Next.
- If you selected Undo Check Out or Discard Estimate, confirm the action in the following dialog.
- On the Completing the Connect to Server Wizard page, select Finish. The program will restart connected to the network.
Connect to server temporarily
- On the Connect to Server Wizard Welcome page, select Next.
- On the Choose Connection Type page, select Connect to server temporarily and configure security/update settings.
- Select Next.
- On the Manage Mobile Estimates page, choose actions for checked-out estimates (None, Check In, Update Server, or Undo Check Out) and new estimates (None, Add to Server, or Update Server).
- Select Next.
- On the Select Additional Estimates page, add estimates as checked out or read-only if desired.
- Review choices on the Completing the Connect to Server Wizard page and select Finish.