Working with projects

Find instructions on working with projects.

  1. Open the project settings as follows:
    • On the project selection page, select settings (Settings) on the tile or row.
    • Alternatively, in the project, select (Settings) on the banner.
  2. Open the Project Form as follows:
    • On the dashboard, select (Edit) on the navigation toolbar.
    • Alternatively, in the overview on the project dashboard, select (Edit).

Modify the view on the project selection page

Modify the view on the project selection page.

The following steps are optional.
  1. You can filter the list of projects as follows.
    • From the filter list at the top, select a filter.
      • Owned by anyone: All projects that you have access to.
      • Owned by me: Projects that you created.
      • Not owned by me: Projects that are created by companies other than your own.
    • In the search field at the top right, enter the search terms.
  2. In the View options panel, you can modify the options as follows.
    1. If the panel is closed, select (View options) on the top-right of the project selection page.
    2. In the panel, modify the options.

      The panel icon displays a dot if you apply any options in the panel.

    3. To clear the options in the panel and the search field, select Reset.
  3. To switch to the tile view, select (Tile).

    Alternatively, to switch to the list view, select (List).

  4. To add or remove columns in the list view:
    1. Select (Columns).
    2. Select the checkboxes of the columns that you want to add to the list view.
    3. Select Apply.
  5. To sort the projects in the list view by a column, select the column.

Open a project

Instructions for opening a project.

  1. You can select a portfolio name in the menu to see its projects.
  2. You can filter the list of projects as follows.
    • From the filter list at the top, select a filter.
      • Owned by anyone: All projects that you have access to.
      • Owned by me: Projects that you created.
      • Not owned by me: Projects that are created by companies other than your own.
    • In the search field at the top right, enter the search terms.
  3. In the View options panel, you can modify the options as follows.
    1. If the panel is closed, select (View options) on the top-right of the project selection page.
    2. In the panel, modify the options.

      The panel icon displays a dot if you apply any options in the panel.

    3. To clear the options in the panel and the search field, select Reset.
  4. Select the project tile.

Copy the link for the project

You can copy the link for a project.

  1. In the Project form, on the navigation toolbar, select (Sharing).
  2. In the Link section, select Copy.

    The link is copied to your clipboard and is ready to be shared. For example, you can paste the link in an email.

    Note:
    • If ProjectSight doesn't have access to your clipboard, the entire hyperlink text is selected automatically. Then you can use keyboard shortcuts to copy and paste it.
    • The recipient must have the related permissions to view or edit the project.

Switch to a different project

You can easily switch projects.

In the banner, select the project switcher, and then select a project from the list.
Note: The list only shows projects that you have access to in the same portfolio. To switch to a project in a different portfolio, select My Projects at the bottom of the project menu, and then open the project.

Create a free project

You can create up to 3 free projects that are automatically added to a portfolio called My portfolio (Free Version).

In the project menu, you can see how many free projects that you've created.

Free project count in the project menu
  1. Select the Add Project tile.
  2. Select the checkbox on the ProjectSight free subscription page to agree to the terms and conditions.

    If you have permission to create projects in a portfolio, the terms and conditions aren't displayed.

  3. Enter the project name and number, and then select Next.
  4. Use an existing project as a template.

    This option is available if you previously created a project.

    1. From the Project template list, select the project that you want to copy.
    2. To copy the project-specific settings, turn on the Project settings toggle.
    3. To add all the team members to your new project, turn on the Team members toggle.
  5. Upload your project information.
    1. To include sample data in your project, select the Include sample data checkbox.

      The sample data includes 2 drawings and an RFI.

    2. Browse to and select one ore more drawings (.pdf or .zip files).

      Alternatively, drag the drawings to the upload area.

      To remove a drawing from the upload list, select Light grey X iconnext to the drawing.

    3. Select Next.
  6. Invite team members to collaborate in your project.
    1. Enter the email address.
    2. Select the role.
    3. Select Invite.
  7. Select Let's Go.

    When you create the next free project, you can select My portfolio (Free Version) from the Portfolio list.

Edit the project details

You can edit the details of a project.

  1. Open the Project form. See Working with projects.
  2. You can edit the basic project information as follows.
    1. Edit the project name, which is displayed throughout the project.
    2. Edit the start date and time, which are used for the Work Progress widget on the project home page.
    3. Edit the address, building type, construction type, and owner, which are displayed in the summary on the project home page.
  3. Select (Save).

Upload a project image

You can upload an image that represents the project. The supported file types are .bmp, .gif, .jpg, and .png.

The project image can't be deleted, but you can upload a different image to replace it.

  1. Select Projects in the left panel.
  2. On the project selection page, select (Tile).
  3. On the portfolio tile, select (Upload photo).
  4. Drag the image file from your computer to the Upload Image dialog.
    • Select Browse, and then select the image file.
  5. In the Crop the image dialog, do any of the following:
    • To move the image, select and drag the middle of it
    • To resize the image, select and drag a sizing handle.

  6. Select (Crop).

Create a project report

You can create a report that only includes the records in the current project or a report that also includes records from other projects in the portfolio.

Note: Linked files aren't included in project reports.
  1. On the navigation toolbar, select (Print Report).
  2. Select the report template.
  3. Select the report type.
  4. Edit the file name.
  5. If available, select the report format.
  6. To include records from projects that you have access to, select (Open) in the Projects list, and then select the projects.
  7. On the button, select , and then select an option:
    • View
    • File Library
    • Download
    • Email
    Note: The available options depend on the type of report.
  8. For the email option, note the following.
    1. You can Edit the subject line.
    2. In the To field, select to choose a contact, or select to find or create a contact.
      Tip: To format the message, select the text, and then select a button on the toolbar.

      1. Select the font type.

      2. Select the text size.

      3. Apply a character style.

      4. Change the text or background color.

      5. Insert a numbered or bulleted list.

      6. Decrease or increase the indent.

      7. Remove all applied styles.

      Note:
      • The indent, text size, and font type aren't applied in emails.
      • Emails don't include images that are pasted into the message.
    3. Select Send.

Delete a project

You can permanently delete a project from ProjectSight.

Note: You cannot restore a deleted project.
  1. Open the Project form. See Working with projects.
  2. Select (More) > > Delete.
  3. In the confirmation dialog, type the word DELETE, and then select Delete.
    Note: The Delete button is available when you type the word correctly.