Manage users, groups, and permissions
The Users & Permissions page under Settings enables anyone with administrative permissions to create new users and set permissions. The User Groups page enables administrators to manage permission groups that mirror company roles. Individual users can then be assigned to a single group and inherit the group's permissions.
On the User Groups page, administrators can create user groups and set default system and project permissions, and rename and delete user groups.
When a user is added to a user group, they inherit the group permissions. These defaults can be overridden for any user. To add a user to a group, see Add a new user and set permissions and View and edit a user’s information and permissions. To override group settings for a user, see Override user group permissions for a user.
On the Users & Permissions page, users already created in the account are shown in the table. You can:
- Add a new user and set permissions.
- View and edit a user’s information and permissions, including project permissions.
- Delete a user.
- Download a list of users to Excel. Select the Download icon (top right of the page) and save the .xlsx file.
- Customize the columns displayed; select the Columns Preferences icon (top right of the table), then select or deselect the columns as required.
- Use the Search tool to search for a specific user by name or email address.
System permissions and special roles
- Mobile requests only. Trimble recommends that all field users be granted Mobile Request only permissions. This will ensure that the user's primary Trimble Materials experience is the Mobile view.
- System admin. This option gives a user full unlimited access to theTrimble Materials account, empowering them to see all projects, all orders, and all tools. They will be able to create new users, adjust permissions, delete orders, analyze purchasing data, and everything in between. Trimble recommends providing this level of access only to those who really need to be seeing, interacting, and engaging with the entire platform.
- Project admin. This is a good option for any users that are leads on specific projects, granting them the ability to drill down into project level financial tools (including the project's Bill of Materials), view pricing, and send RFQs. Note this option is turned on and disabled if a user is a System admin.
- Invoices admin. Users can be set up with Invoice administrative permissions, which grants them access to the invoice module, and enables them to receive, review, and approve invoices.
- Warehouse admin. Mark warehouse admins with Warehouse admin permissions to ensure that they can receive notifications associated with all warehouse orders. When this option is selected, you can select which warehouses the user is assigned to as an admin.
If a user is not assigned to a user group, any selected options show a blue checkmark.
- A purple empty checkbox if the default selection is removed.
- A purple checkmark if the option is added for the user when it is not a default for the user group the user is assigned to.
Project permissions
Set default permissions per user for new projects, all existing projects, or individual projects.
Project permissions can be set when creating a new user or editing the permissions for an existing user.
The user permissions for projects are:
- View & Request. If selected, the user can view project activities and request material for the project.
- Approve Order. If selected, the user can approve requisitions / RFQs and send them to the office for submission.
- Send Order. If selected, the user can submit orders / RFQs.
- Notifications. If selected, the user will receive notifications on activities and chat messages on the project.
- External Chat. If selected, the user can view and send messages to suppliers and access quotes.
You can also set default permissions for these actions for:
- New projects. The settings configured here will not affect any existing projects.
- All existing projects. The default settings will apply to all existing projects,
but can be changed for individual projects as needed.
Note you can also assign and modify a user’s permissions from within a project; See Assign and modify permissions for a project.
If a user is not assigned to a user group, any selected options show a blue checkmark.
- A purple empty checkbox if the default selection is removed.
- A purple checkmark if the option is added for the user when it is not a default for the user group the user is assigned to.
User groups and project permissions
- User group permissions apply only to existing projects when the user already has the View & Request option selected checked. Projects that do not have View & Request selected will not receive any group default permissions.
- For new projects, if the user group has the New project defaults toggled ON, new projects will automatically populate with the user group's baseline permissions. If the New project defaults toggle is OFF, permissions will only populate automatically if the user is manually granted View & Request access.
- When a user is unassigned from a user group (assigned None) or assigned to a different user group, permission settings for existing projects are not changed.
- The project permissions set in the user group act as a template; when permissions are added for a project manually for a user, ie when the View & Request option is selected or when New Project Defaults is set, project permissions for the user are then set according to the user group's settings.
- If project permissions are changed for an existing group, the project permissions users assigned to the user group are not changed. Only newly created projects are affected.
- When the New project defaults toggle is ON, newly created projects inherit the default permissions as set in the user group.
- When the New project defaults toggle is OFF, if you manually select the View & Request option for a user, the permissions default to the permission set in the user group.